Behind Her Eyes – Sarah Pinborough

What the actual hell did I just read?
That is legitimately the first thought I had once I finished this one. Two of my friends had read this previously and as soon as I put the book down I texted them both with a LOT of profanity. I don’t even know how to review this damn book.
I enjoyed the read. I really did. It was one of those books I couldn’t put down and ALSO as it got more batshit crazy, I found myself wanting to skim through quickly just so I could figure out what the hell was happening. FORTUNATELY, I didn’t do that. I didn’t REALLY want to ruin it. Although…now that I’m done with it, it would have been nice to be prepared for that ending.
Y’ALL. THAT. ENDING. WAS. TOO. MUCH.
I don’t think I’ll recover.

Anyway it’s another psychological thriller that’s often recommended once you’ve looked at The Girl on The Train, The Couple Next Door, and others. It’s got a few serious twists. I found myself alternating between hate and love, trust and suspicion soooo rapidly. The characters are so damn bizarre. Seriously…every. single. one. is. crazy. Even the relatively normal protagonist is an odd creature.

IT WAS JUST A LOT…OKAY?!

Book Description:
Louise is a single mom, a secretary, stuck in a modern-day rut. On a rare night out, she meets a man in a bar and sparks fly. Though he leaves after they kiss, she’s thrilled she finally connected with someone.

When Louise arrives at work on Monday, she meets her new boss, David. The man from the bar. The very married man from the bar…who says the kiss was a terrible mistake but who still can’t keep his eyes off Louise.

And then Louise bumps into Adele, who’s new to town and in need of a friend, but she also just happens to be married to David. David and Adele look like the picture-perfect husband and wife, but then why is David so controlling, and why is Adele so scared of him?

As Louise is drawn into David and Adele’s orbit, she uncovers more puzzling questions than answers. The only thing that is crystal clear is that something in this marriage is very, very wrong, but Louise can’t guess how wrong―and how far a person might go to protect their marriage’s secrets.

Rating:
4/5

-Lesley

Leave a comment